• The Calder Northern Group is part of the Calder Northern Division of the National Model Railroad Association British Region. The group’s clubroom is based in the end room downstairs in the North Junction Signal Box at the Crewe Heritage Centre, where regular meetings are held once a month throughout the year. The clubroom is normally open to visitors every weekend during the Heritage Centre’s main season from April to the end of September.


  • CreweNorthSignalBox

Main Layouts

  • North Western Mills

    An HO DCC layout


    Read More

  • Devil’s Creek

    An HO DC Layout


    Read More

  • Glenbogle Diesel Locomotive Facility

    An HO DCC Module


    Read More

  • Meeting Dates 2015/16

    Sunday 19th April
    Saturday 16th May
    Sunday 14th June
    Saturday 18th July
    Sunday 16th August
    Saturday 12th September
    Sunday 4th October
    Saturday 14 November
    Sunday 13th December (Christmas Raffle & Mince Pies)
    Saturday 16th January
    Sunday February 14th (Valentine Meet)
    Saturday March 12th (AGM)
    Sunday April 17th
  • Membership Fees

    NMRA Members £4Meeting
    Guests £5meeting

Latest News

  • IMG_0649

    December Raffle 2015

    A group of members anxiously awaiting the start of the raffle. Unusually Bob did not pick the first ticket. A total of over £200 was raised for the club.

  • IMG_0388

    Devil’s Creek acquires new stock

    A collection of model railroad items from the late Captain Bill Walker of Sully, and his late son, has been left to the Barry and Penarth Model Railway Club.  Steve Scott, who is also a member of this club, has acquired the following which will be used to supplement the rolling stock of Devil’s Creek: 5 […]

  • IMG_0258_DCE

    Calder Northern at Manchester Runway Show

    Both the Crewe Heritage Centre and Calder Northern took a stand at the transport festival at Manchester Runway Centre on the 11th and 12th July. The event was busy on both days and both stands had a lot of interest. Here are some pictures from the event:

  • SP3153ColtonCA

    John Kane

    John Kane, a founder member of Calder Northern, passed away on Saturday, 9th May 2015.